GGBooks wordmark

Past Winners and Finalists

Explore the list of Governor General’s Literary Award winners (since 1936) and finalists (since 1979) to discover the best books!

To show our continued appreciation of the GGBooks winners and finalists from 2021 and 2022, we are maintaining access to the Web pages featuring the best books for those years.

2021 winners and finalists | 2022 winners and finalists

Prior to 2016, the “Young People’s Literature” categories were referred to as the “Children’s Literature” categories. 

Until 1959, only English-language books were eligible. Francophone authors could receive an award only if their work had been translated and published in English. In addition, there were no finalists prior to 1979.



**Award declined by recipient.

No results

Media partners

The Canada Council for the Arts thanks the GGBooks media partners for contributing to the promotion of literature from Canada.

CBC Radio-CanadaL'actualité

Submitting a book

Publishers can submit works they consider to be outstanding. The guidelines and eligibility requirements are accessible through the button below.

How to submit a nomination