GG Books

Winners and Finalists

Select a genre:

Daddy Lenin and Other Stories

Jury Statement

Guy Vanderhaeghe’s Daddy Lenin and Other Stories is the work of an assured writer who needs no pyrotechnics to keep us reading. Each story is superbly crafted, razor-sharp, wickedly funny. The reader is carried along in the hands of a master, a seasoned professional at the top of his game.


Daddy Lenin and Other Stories

By Guy Vanderhaeghe

  • Book Details
  • Published by McClelland & Stewart / Penguin Random House Canada; distributed by the publisher
  • ISBN: 978-0-7710-9914-4
Guy Vanderhaeghe, Saskatoon, SK

Guy Vanderhaeghe, Saskatoon, SK

Photo: Matt Smith

Who is Guy Vanderhaeghe?

Celebrated Prairie storyteller Guy Vanderhaeghe wins his third Governor General’s Literary Award with his collection of short stories Daddy Lenin and Other Stories (2015). He has published five novels, four short story collections and two plays, including The Last Crossing (winner, 2004 CBC Canada Reads), The Englishman’s Boy (GG Award, shortlisted for both the Giller Prize and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award1996), and Man Descending (GG Award, 1982). Other honours include the Order of Canada, the Pierre Elliot Trudeau Fellowship, the Writers’ Trust Timothy Findley Award, and the Harbourfront Literary Prize. Born in Esterhazy, Saskatchewan, Guy Vanderhaeghe now lives in Saskatoon, where he teaches creative writing at St. Thomas More College.